Suppressors (or silencers) are legal but are regulated by federal law and on a state-by-state basis by the National Firearms Act (NFA) branch of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (BATFE). Private citizens can legally purchase and possess silencers in 42 states* without a permit.
- Reside in one of the 42 states that currently allow civilian ownership
- Be a resident of the United States
- Be legally eligible to purchase a firearm
- Pass a BATFE background check
- Be at least 21 years of age to purchase from a dealer
- Be at least 18 years of age to purchase from another citizen
- Pay a one-time $200 Transfer Tax per item
*The eight states that currently do not allow individuals to own suppressors are California, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Massachussetts, New York, New Jersey, and the Rhode Island.